final fantasy pixel remaster
final fantasy pixel remaster
final fantasy pixel remaster

Final Fantasy Pixel Remaster Collection Is Available on April 19

BKMT Staff

Apr 5, 2023


Announced today, Square Enix will be releasing the Final Fantasy Pixel Remaster series for PS4 and Nintendo Switch on April 19th.

The first six Final Fantasy games have been remastered and packaged in the Final Fantasy Pixel Remaster series, featuring updated soundtracks rearranged by the original composer, Nobuo Uematsu, as well as a modernized UI, auto-battle functions, and other enhancements.

Players on the console release have the option to switch between the original and rearranged soundtracks, as well as turn off random encounters if they wish to explore the map. Additionally, boost features are available to increase experience accumulation, allowing for faster and easier runs with up to four times the amount of experience gained through adjusted settings.

A noteworthy update includes the addition of font options, allowing players to switch between the original, pixel-based font that resembles the game's original feel, and the default font that previously received criticism from players during the PC and mobile launch for being too unattractive.

The Final Fantasy Pixel Remaster series can be purchased as a bundle including all six games, or individually. If you're on the Switch, you can preorder it now for $75. The physical version has been available for pre-order for months, but it's currently sold out. While the PS4 editions aren't available yet at the time of this writing, Square Enix has stated they will announce when they will be available soon.

The PS4 edition will include a theme and avatar. From April 20th to May 25th, individual game purchases will come with a theme and avatar for each title, while purchasing the Final Fantasy Pixel Remaster I-IV bundle will provide a theme and avatar for all six games, totaling six themes and six avatars.